Core Requirement 2.6: Continuous Operation

The institution is in operation and has students enrolled in degree programs.

Compliance Partial Compliance Non-compliance


The Florida Legislature formally established the University of South Florida (USF) in 1956. In 1974, USF began offering evening courses at public schools in Sarasota and Manatee counties. The Florida Legislature officially designated USF Sarasota-Manatee as a branch campus of USF in 1975, and the campus has continuously operated since then. The Florida Legislature established USF Sarasota-Manatee as a regional campus originally by Florida Statute 240.5275, which was replaced by Florida Statute 1004.34 when the Florida Code had an update in 2002.

Academic year 2014-15 home campus headcount enrollment was 2,495 (Annual Student Headcount Enrollments). “Home campus” within the USF System means the campus that the student has chosen as “home” for such activities as advising, activities, and degree conferral. USF Sarasota-Manatee offers eighteen (18) baccalaureate degree programs and nine (9) master’s degree programs, as listed on the Degree Inventory 2014-15 and projected Degree Inventory 2015-16. One undergraduate program and two graduate programs are inactive due to low enrollments and are not accepting applications until demand increases (BS/BA in Early Childhood Education, MA in Elementary Education, MA in Reading Education). Therefore, USF Sarasota-Manatee has seventeen (17) active bachelor’s degrees and seven (7) active master’s degrees.

A five-year history of USF Sarasota-Manatee’s Annual Student Headcount Enrollments, along with state funding by source and expenditures (USF Sarasota-Manatee Annual Accountability Report 2013-14 Financial Section) provides evidence of continuous operation.